

1,000 expected at JAOCS-AOCS meeting this month

The joint meeting of the Japan Oil Chemists' Society and the American Oil Chemists' Society, April 29-May 3, 1979, is expected to draw approximately 1,000 persons to San Francisco's Fairmont Hotel.

Thirty-five technical sessions will incorporate approximately 250 papers on various aspects of fats and oils from analysis of lipids to construction of oilseed plants outside the United States. Approximately 50 papers will be by JOCS members.

Registration fees are \$90 for JOCS/JAOCS members, \$115 for nonmembers; \$80 for the spouses' program, \$35 for retired members and \$5 for students. One-day registrations will be \$45 each. Registration fees, except for students and one-day registrants, include one ticket per registrant to social events. Further information and registration forms are available from the AOCS, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820 USA.

Social events will include a mixer on Sunday evening, plenary breakfast sessions Monday and Wednesday, and the traditional banquet on Wednesday evening. Monday's plenary breakfast will include a talk by Dr. Sanford Miller, director of the U.S. Bureau of Foods, followed by a question-and-answer session with the audience. Wednesday's plenary breakfast will feature presentation of the Award in Lipid Chemistry to Dr. Stephen S. Chang, chairman of the Department of Food Science at Rutgers, The State University, New Jersey, and Dr. Chang's acceptance lecture.

New officers will be installed during the Wednesday breakfast session. Outgoing President David Firestone will present the AOCS tomahawk gavel to incoming President Norman O.V. Sonntag.

Wednesday's banquet will feature music by Manny Harmon and his orchestra with entertainment by comedian Don Rice and television personality Shari Lewis. A private tour company, California Carousel, will be selling two optional tours: on Monday evening to Golden Gate Park and on Friday, after the meeting, an all-day tour to nearby Napa Valley wineries.



Spouses' program

Technical program registrants' spouses will get a chance to sample the sights and delights of San Francisco during the week. Following Monday's plenary breakfast, to which spouses are invited, there will be a descriptive bus tour of San Francisco. Tuesday will bring a bus tour to San Mateo's The Collective, a showcase for 80 prestigious antique dealers. Wednesday will feature the plenary breakfast, a luncheon at the Empress of China Restaurant in Chinatown and an entertainment special, with the AOCS banquet that evening. On Thursday, there will be a morning program at the Fairmont Hotel featuring a mini-fashion show and make-up seminar by Elizabeth Arden Salon.

Hotel

The Fairmont Hotel and Tower is atop famed Nob Hill, at California and Mason streets. All technical sessions and committee meetings are scheduled in the Fairmont, with registrants expected to overflow the Fairmont into the Mark Hopkins (across the street) and the Holiday Inn, a brief walk away.

Awards

In addition to the Award in Lipid Chemistry, other AOCS awards presented during the meeting will include the Honored Students' awards, the Smalley Program awards, and the Award of Merit. These awards will be presented during the plenary breakfast sessions.

Honored Students selected

Six graduate scholars from across the United States have been selected as recipients of the 1979 AOCS Honored Student Awards. Each student will present a paper during the annual meeting in San Francisco. The award consists of a certificate, free registration for the meeting, travel expenses to the convention, and a stipend to cover portions of other expenses.

The six 1979 winners are:

- W.G. Keyes, University of Missouri, nominated by M. Heimberg.
- T.N. Tweeten, Kansas State University, nominated by O.K. Chung.
- J.K. Beckman, Vanderbilt University, nominated by J.G. Coniglio.
- S.K. Czarnecki, University of Pennsylvania, nominated by D. Kritchevsky.
- S.L. Cantrell, University of Tennessee, nominated by S.L. Melton.
- M.F. Matocha, Texas A&M University, nominated by R Wood.

The first four winners listed are doctoral candidates; the latter two are candidates for master's degrees.